Sunday, June 29, 2014

Strange Mutants of the 21st Century

And another new, great release from Andy Colvin's New Saucerian Books, and a total must-buy for fans of Mothman and John Keel: Strange Mutants of the Twenty-First Century. And here's Andy with all the info:

John A. Keel is considered by many to have been a significant influence within ufology and Forteana. He died on July 3, 2009 in New York City, at the age of 79. At the height of his career, he was interviewed by luminaries such as David Letterman, Johnny Carson, and Merv Griffin.

"The Mothman Prophecies," perhaps Keel's most famous book, was an account of his investigation into sightings in West Virginia of a huge, winged creature called the "Mothman."

"Strange Mutants of the Twenty-First Century" contains Keel's very first ruminations on Mothman, as well as a variety of strange reports on black "demon" dogs, phantom cats, Bigfoot and other North American giants, flying humanoids, flying saucers, flying snakes, and even stranger mutants that Keel believed reside with us on Earth.

This book was originally printed in very small quantities over 30 years ago, and became extremely rare and expensive. Finally, it has been available to the general public.

"Strange Mutants" is a classic read that provides an entertaining glimpse into John Keel's bizarre world of the unknown. This 2014 reprint edition features cover art by David Sankey, an introduction by Keel, several illustrations, and a chart of all the early Mothman sightings. This is a book that belongs on the shelf of every Keel fan.


  1. I want to make sure I have this right. This book isn't a reprint of one of Keel's well-known paperbacks of the 1960s and 1970s, right?

  2. I'm actually not sure, I'll get back to you and let you know.

  3. Reading this book now but in all honesty, just seems to be a condensed version of The Complete Guide to Mysterious Beings...

  4. Yeah, I'm not sure what the book actually is!

  5. It makes for a good easy read and intro to Keel and his ideas, but it's all word for word writings of his that we've read before. Nothing new in here... Still makes for a nice little addition to one's Keel collection, kind of a short coffee table book with samplings from the book I mentioned earlier, people shouldn't feel it's a must have!!!

  6. Of course there's also the intro by Gray Barker, but I don't trust him at all, lol... Too many pranks muddying the water...